Best Gluten-free Hamburger Buns

Whether you’re planning a big BBQ full of your closest friends, or simply want to elevate your daily lunch-time sandwich, good hamburger buns are a must.

They manage to be firm enough to hold all of your favorite fillings, whilst also being wonderfully light and fluffy. Their subtly sweet taste is enough to beat regular bread any day. 

However, if you follow a gluten-free diet because of a health condition, the thought of a BBQ or even a simple sandwich likely fills you with dread.

As wonderful as a burger in a light and fluffy bun can be on a hot summer day, the after-effects on your stomach are anything but lovely. As such, many of those who follow a gluten-free diet have banished bread-based meals altogether. 

Although, in recent years, gluten-free alternatives to typically glutinous foods have undergone innovative developments. Gone are the days where gluten-free bread crumbled in your hands and resembled eating sand.

Now, supermarkets tend to boast a huge range of gluten-free bread items, including hamburger buns, that taste astoundingly close to the real thing! 

Gluten-free bread products can vary significantly from one brand to another because there are hundreds of different ways to make them! The number of different flour combinations alone is quite something.

As such, it can be tricky to know what to look for when you’re buying a gluten-free bread product. 

That's why we’re here to help! Below, we have listed our five favorite gluten-free hamburger buns. They have been hand-selected according to their ingredients, taste, and texture.

Following, we’ve included a handy buyer’s guide, to make sure you are as informed as possible regarding gluten-free products. 


Canyon Bakehouse offers a great range of gluten-free products, including hamburger buns.

In fact, Canyon Bakehouse has a mission of not just making delicious gluten-free goods but making products that are safe for those with celiac disease, gluten intolerances, and other food allergies, so that everyone has a chance to love bread.

Unlike some other gluten-free hamburger buns, these are made from 100% whole grains, such as brown rice, sorghum, and millet flours, which give an authentic bready texture and taste.

They are also just the right level of firmness to adequately hold a burger and toppings, but soft enough to tear without a knife. 

These particular burger buns arrive frozen, in a pack of four. They are frozen in order to maintain their freshness and great flavor for as long as possible.

Once thawed, they will taste as if they’ve recently been baked. After defrosting, these gluten-free buns will last for roughly ten days.

This product is certified gluten-free, dairy-free, nut-free, and soy-free, making them a great choice for many people with dietary requirements and food intolerances. 


  • 100% whole grains - provide familiar texture and flavor. 
  • Frozen - maintains the freshness of the product.
  • Gluten-free, nut-free, dairy-free, soy-free - ideal for people with specific dietary requirements.


  • Nut-free, dairy-free, soy-free - won’t be to everyone’s needs or tastes. 


Udi’s actually began as a group of cafes in Denver, Colorado, in 1994. However, their ethic changed in 2008 when the owner, Udi Baron, teamed up with a gluten-free baker.

The pair decided to make products for the 10% of Americans that cannot eat gluten, due to either intolerance or celiac disease. Since then, Udi’s gluten-free buns have become something of a sensation. 

Udi's Gluten-Free Hamburger Buns are of gourmet quality. They are soft, golden, and definitely a little bit moreish!

Whether you’re looking for gluten-free buns for a BBQ or even just something delicious to use in a sandwich, these hamburger buns are ideal. They taste just as good (if not better!) than a regular, glutinous hamburger bun. 

Udi’s uses gluten-free wheat flour alternatives, such as tapioca starch, brown rice flour, rice flour, corn starch, and potato flour. These ingredients work together to create an authentic soft bun texture that doesn’t dry or crumble.

They come in a pack of four (though larger packs are available), and they are also certified dairy-free, soy-free, and nut-free! 


  • Made with gluten-free wheat flour alternatives - gives the product an authentic taste and texture. 
  • Different sized packs available - ideal for all occasions. 
  • Dairy-free, soy-free, and nut-free - ideal for people with specific dietary requirements. 


  • Texture - some say they are too dense for their tastes.


For Schar, the health and well-being of their customers is paramount. From raw materials to the finished product, Schar’s Quality Assurance team ensures that all of its products meet the highest possible standards.

Each of their products also meets the quality standards for premium, natural and secure eating, so gluten-free customers can put their minds at ease! 

Schar’s classic gluten-free hamburger buns are made from gluten-free wheat flour alternatives, including rice flour, rice starch, maize starch, and millet flour.

These ingredients work really well together to produce a bun that has just the right taste, texture, and density.

Their recipe is also high in fiber, and free of wheat, lactose, GMOs, and preservatives, meaning Schar’s hamburger buns are a great choice for health-conscious eaters! 

Thanks to Udi’s use of sourdough, these hamburger buns are super light, fluffy, and delicious. They also feel just that little bit more classy than your regular store-bought buns, and are sure to impress even the hardest to please members of the family! 


  • Made from gluten-free wheat flour alternatives - gives the buns an authentic bready taste and texture. 
  • Sourdough - great for flavor and overall appearance. 
  • Wheat-free, lactose-free, GMO-free, preservative-free - ideal for people with specific dietary requirements. 
  • High fiber content - perfect for health-conscious consumers. 


  • May contain soy - not ideal for all intolerances. 


In the pursuit of wellness and happiness, a couple of college kids started experimenting with nutritious foods. Their goal was to energize and nourish their active lifestyle by innovatively making their favorite food more nutritious.

If you haven’t already guessed, they loved bread! These college kids went on to build Happy Campers, a company that is passionate about sharing delicious, wholesome bread and also has a wonderful ethic of embracing everything that life has to offer. 

Happy Campers’ wild gluten-free hamburger buns are a brilliant healthy and gluten-free alternative to regular bread.

They are great for holding the juiciest and messiest burgers or sandwich fillings and are also packed with wholly organic ingredients that make them soft, fluffy, and delicious.

They are made from gluten-free wheat flour alternatives, including whole millet seed, organic whole sorghum, organic whole buckwheat seed, organic whole quinoa seed, and organic whole amaranth seed.

These ingredients meld together very well, creating a hamburger bun that has a great flavor and wonderful texture which is reminiscent of regular bread. 

Happy Campers’ gluten-free buns are made in a dedicated gluten-free bakery, meaning there is absolutely no chance that they could become contaminated with glutinous products.

They are also allergy-friendly, 100% organic, corn-free, dairy-free, nut-free, GMO-free, soy-free, and vegan! 

This product is best enjoyed fresh, but can be frozen if you can't quite finish the pack straight away! They can be stored in the freezer for up to 11 months. 


  • Made from gluten-free wheat alternatives - gives the product an authentic texture and taste. 
  • Made in a dedicated gluten-free bakery - ideal for consumers with serious intolerances or celiac disease. 
  • Allergy-friendly, 100% organic, corn-free, dairy-free, nut-free, GMO-free, soy-free, and vegan - ideal for health-conscious people with specific dietary requirements. 


  • Pack of four - not great for larger occasions. 


In 2006, Mrs. F. Katz had simply had enough of lackluster, tasteless gluten-free products.

After having two children who were gluten intolerant, she realized just how difficult food shopping could be if you had allergies. Frustrated with regular store-bought products, Mrs. Katz began to bake gluten-free goods herself. 

Katz grew from a one-woman bakery to a full, state-of-the-art facility free of nuts, dairy, and gluten. In this dedicated, gluten-free space, Katz’s hamburger buns are made.

They are made from gluten-free wheat flour alternatives, including rice flour, tapioca starch, corn starch, arrowroot starch, soy flour, and potato flour. 

The buns have a super fluffy texture that Katz has made sure doesn’t crumble or break like other gluten-free bread products.

They taste very fresh just as they are, however, if you want to elevate their flavor, we recommend putting them in the oven for a few minutes! 

They are even more delicious when warm in the middle and slightly crisp on the outside. If you can't consume them straight away, you can freeze them to preserve their freshness.

These particular hamburger buns come in two different sized packs: a single four-pack and a case of six-packs of four. The larger case is ideal if you’re planning a big BBQ! 


  • Made with gluten-free wheat flour alternatives - ensures great taste and texture. 
  • Large pack available - great for large gatherings. 
  • Made in a nut-free, dairy-free, gluten-free facility - great for those with serious allergies and intolerances. 


  • Soy - these aren't suitable for people with a soy allergy. 

Buyer’s Guide

If you are following a gluten-free diet for health reasons, buying food can be a particularly stressful experience. With the abundance of different foods that contain gluten, it can be very frustrating trying to find good alternatives. 

To help, we’ve created a handy buyer’s guide, consisting of useful information and things to consider when shopping for your perfect gluten-free hamburger bun. Check them out below!

Best Gluten Free Hamburger Buns

How To Know If Your Bread Is Gluten-Free 

With the increased innovation of food alternatives, it can be difficult to tell a gluten-free bun from one containing gluten. What you can do to distinguish the two is check the allergen labels.

Any labels with allergen warnings for wheat should be avoided. Also check the ingredients list looking to see if there is any wheat, spelt, barley, or rye present. If they are, it's best to avoid that particular item! 

Here are some grains that contain gluten and should be avoided if you are intolerant or have celiac disease: 

  • Wheat
  • Barley 
  • Rye
  • Spelt
  • Einkorn
  • Durum 
  • Faro 
  • Kamut
  • Emmer 

There are also some naturally gluten-free grains. These grains do not need to be avoided if you are intolerant to gluten or have celiac disease: 

  • Buckwheat 
  • Millet 
  • Rice
  • Teff
  • Sorghum

Dedicated gluten-free facilities

Just because an item claims to be gluten-free does not necessarily mean that it was produced in a gluten-free facility. For a lot of people, this isn’t an issue. 

However, if you suffer from serious celiac disease, for some peace of mind it might be a good idea to check if the brand of your hamburger buns uses a dedicated, gluten-free facility. If they do, it means there is no chance of contamination from glutinous foods. 

Taste and texture 

Now we have all of the technical stuff out of the way, the next most important thing to consider when buying gluten-free bread products is your personal preferences. 

Gluten-free bread has come a long way in terms of its resemblance to regular bread. However, this doesn't mean that all gluten-free bread available today is created equally.

Each different brand tends to use a variety of different gluten-free flours, and thus, produces a range of different styles of bread. 

Below, we’ve included a list of the most common gluten-free flours used to make hamburger buns, and the effects they have on the overall flavor or texture of the bread.

1. Buckwheat flour

This has a rich, earthy flavor that works well in bread. However, it can be quite crumbly when used by itself. 

2. Millet flour

Millet flour is finely ground and soft, which makes bread light and fluffy. 

3. Teff flour

This small grain is packed with nutritional value. It also has a nice, mild flavor that works well with almond flour and buckwheat flour. 

4. Cassava flour

This is the most similar to regular wheat flour. It has a very neutral flavor. 

5. Coconut flour

Coconut flour has a very similar texture to wheat flour, so is really great for bread. Although, it does absorb more liquid than other flours. 

6. Sorghum

This has a very light taste that is subtly sweet. It is often used in small amounts mixed with other flours as it can create very heavy, dense bread. 

7. Amaranth flour

This is a pseudo-grain that is really full of nutritious value. It has a great mild, nutty taste. 

8. Almond flour

This is a great flour for bread, as it produces a light and fluffy but sturdy loaf. 

Frequently Asked Questions

What is gluten?

Gluten is a protein that can be found in grains such as wheat, barley, and rye. It’s commonly used as a binding agent or thickener, and generally provides the familiar texture of certain foods, such as bread. 

What does gluten-free mean?

Being gluten-free means eliminating foods that contain grains that contain gluten. 

Gluten-free foods are those which are, either naturally or through some process of gluten elimination, are free from gluten. 

What is celiac disease?

Celiac disease is a health condition that can cause a range of symptoms, including, but not limited to, abdominal pain, bloating, indigestion, tiredness, and weight loss. 

When people with celiac disease eat gluten, their immune system attacks their tissues. In turn, the small intestine is damaged, and absorbing vital nutrients is made difficult. 

It can be a very serious condition that, unfortunately, doesn’t have a cure yet. However, following a strict gluten-free diet prevents the symptoms and long-term complications of the disease.  

What is gluten intolerance?

Gluten intolerance is a completely different health condition to celiac disease, though it does cause very similar symptoms. 

Someone with a gluten intolerance might experience symptoms such as, but not limited to, bloating, abdominal pain, and nausea after consuming glutinous products. 

Though the long-term health implications are far less concerning than those of celiac disease, it is still very important to follow a strict gluten-free diet if you have a gluten intolerance. 

Is gluten bad for you?

This depends on the person. If you have gluten intolerance, celiac disease, or another health issue that is induced by gluten consumption, then yes! If this is the case, consuming gluten is bad for your overall health, and you should follow a gluten-free diet. 

However, if you don’t have such a health condition, there is no evidence to suggest that glutinous foods are bad for you. In fact, gluten is neither healthy or unhealthy.

Because it is present in foods in such small quantities, gluten actually has very little nutritional effect on your diet. 

Unnecessarily giving up gluten is likely to make your diet more unhealthy. Many foods that contain gluten are really good for you, so giving up all gluten if you don't have to is potentially a bad idea. 

Is gluten-free bread better for you?

If you have a gluten intolerance or celiac disease then yes! Gluten-free bread will ensure that you avoid all of the nasty side effects associated with your health condition. 

However, if you don’t have a health condition that involves gluten, there is no evidence to suggest that gluten-free bread is any healthier than regular bread. In fact, gluten-free bread tends to be lower in fiber and high in sugar and fat content. 

How is gluten-free bread made?

Gluten-free bread is made using lots of different kinds of grain and legume flours which are naturally free of gluten. However, in the process of making regular bread, gluten helps to bind the ingredients into a dough. 

As such, in the process of making gluten-free bread, an extra binding ingredient is needed. This ingredient is usually a type of gum or starch or a combination of the two. These extra ingredients behave like gluten and work with the flour to create a gluten-free dough! 

Ray Brooke
Latest posts by Ray Brooke (see all)
Scroll to Top