What Cereals Are Gluten Free?

Most cereals contain gluten. This is because gluten is the name for proteins contained in wheat, barley, and rye. For people who suffer from coeliac disease, this can be frustrating.

Coeliac disease is a condition whereby those who suffer from it are sensitive to foods containing gluten.

Those who have the condition will have to endure painful symptoms, such as stomach aches and diarrhea, whenever they consume gluten. 

Fortunately, there are increasing amounts of gluten-free alternatives that means people who have coeliac disease can still eat foods that would traditionally have gluten in them, such as bread, cereals, and cake. 

Below we have compiled a list of gluten-free cereals for you to try out.

What Cereals Are Gluten Free

Forager Project Organic Grain-Free Os (Chocolate And Cinnamon)

First on our list is this Forager gluten-free cereal. If you love chocolate, this chocolate and cinnamon flavor combination will be just for you. They are also low in sugar, containing just 4g.

This is enough sugar to give you energy while making them a healthier option than most cereals containing gluten.

In addition, they are high in both fiber and protein, increasing their benefit to your health. This company has designed this product to be organic, meaning that it is also environmentally friendly. 

Purely Elizabeth Ancient Grain Granola (Chocolate Sea Salt, Vanilla Almond, and Original)

Purely Elizabeth offers gluten-free granola in three delicious flavors, namely original, chocolate sea salt, and vanilla almond.

They offer different bundles that have different flavors, giving you plenty of choices. Not only are these granolas gluten-free, but they are also vegan. As a result, they are an ethical choice.

This granola is also very healthy. It contains coconut sugar, which is high in vitamins and minerals such as iron and potassium.

It also features chia seeds, which contain a lot of fiber and omega-3 fatty acids. If you are looking for a snack to start your day, you cannot go wrong with Purely Elizabeth’s granola.

Add yogurt, milk, or fruit to make a delicious gluten-free breakfast. 

Cascadian Farm Organic Cereal (Honey Vanilla Crunch)

This organic gluten-free cereal comes in a delectable flavor called ‘honey vanilla crunch.’ Do you love honey? If so, this might be the ideal product for you.

Unlike other cereals, this brand is not made with synthetic pesticides or GMOs (genetically modified organisms). As a result, it is a fully organic product.

In addition, it does not contain any artificial colors or flavors. Instead, it has been made from natural ingredients, including whole grain corn, chickpea, and sweet potato.

Gluten-Free Honey Nut Cheerios 

Next up is this gluten-free cereal from Cheerios. In the flavor of honey nut, they are truly mouth-watering. They contain whole grains, actual honey, and natural almonds.

They will also help you to live a balanced diet since these Cheerios contain 12 minerals and vitamins. These tasty cereals feature beta-glucan, which can lower your cholesterol.

Because of this, they may even lower the risk of heart disease. If you suffer from coeliac disease, this is a great brand of cereals to eat for breakfast or whenever you crave them!

Lucky Charms Gluten-Free Cereal

Up last is this super fun gluten-free cereal by Lucky Charms. They are perfect for children, with their bright colors and tasty marshmallow shapes.

Lucky Charms come in lots of entertaining and magical shapes, such as rainbows, unicorns, and love hearts, that will make your mornings much more interesting.

Of course, adults can also enjoy this cereal thanks to its amazing taste. They contain lots of vitamins and minerals, as well as loads of calcium. As a result, they can contribute to a healthy lifestyle. 

Things To Consider 

When shopping for the right gluten-free cereal for you or your family, there are a few factors that you will need to contemplate. These are:


As you may have surmised from this list, cereals come in a lot of flavors. Leading a gluten-free diet does not mean that you cannot experience these flavors.

In fact, many of the products on this guide come in a variety of flavors, including chocolate, honey, cinnamon, and vanilla.

However, if you are picky about what flavors you like, you may need to think about what flavors you will be willing to eat before you begin shopping. 


Though gluten-free products are more readily available on modern supermarket shelves, they can sometimes be more expensive than their gluten-fueled counterparts.

For this list, we have tried to include affordable gluten-free alternatives. If you are not willing to spend a lot of money on gluten-free cereals, you should consider the cheaper products on this list. 

Frequently Asked Questions

Are Potato Chips Gluten-free?

A lot of potato chips on the market do not contain gluten, including most famous brands. If you suffer from coeliac and are trying to maintain a gluten-free diet, we advise checking the ingredients label just to be safe. 

Is Milk Gluten-free?

Yes, milk does not contain any gluten. You are free to enjoy it with your gluten-free cereal. Also, you can enjoy yogurt and fruits with your cereal.

If you want a vegan alternative to milk, you can use soy, almond, and coconut milk.

These types of milk are usually gluten-free, though we advise reading the ingredients label since they can sometimes be flavored with products that contain gluten. 

What Cereals Contain Gluten?

Sadly, there are many kinds of cereals that contain gluten. This can make finding products without gluten a problem for those with coeliac disease.

However, gluten-free products should be clearly marked on the packaging.

In addition, if you are unsure of what cereals to avoid, look for those that contain wheat, rye, barley, and semolina. These will all contain gluten. 

Final Thoughts

Though being diagnosed with coeliac disease will mean you will have to significantly alter your diet, there are not more products available to you than there were a few years ago.

Nowadays, there are lots of gluten-free cereals available for you to enjoy without the irritating symptoms. These come in a variety of forms and flavors.

As a result, there is likely a gluten-free cereal product out there for everybody. If you are struggling to locate a high-quality gluten-free cereal, we recommend the five products listed above. 

Ray Brooke
Latest posts by Ray Brooke (see all)
Scroll to Top